StarPlus Energy swung from a KRW 33.7 billion loss in 2024 to KRW 123.1 billion net income in 2025 on KRW 931.1 billion revenue. No public filing separates that profit into organic earnings and §45X credits. Three DART filings in the first week of September restructured the financing around the route, and the cathode supplier for the October LFP production target is still unnamed.
This is the richest US production route in public data that any Korean maker operates — audited entity-level financials inside Samsung's consolidated accounts, Stellantis SEC disclosures, DOE project filings. What follows maps what that record contains at the plant level and what it doesn't, and sets the structure this section will reuse for other routes. It sits below the company-level work in Issue #12, which recorded Samsung SDI's Q2 2026 battery-segment operating profit of KRW 159.3 billion alongside consolidated AMPC of KRW 107.7 billion but could not allocate either figure to a production route.
Route decomposition table
| Field | FY2024 | FY2025 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Legal operator | StarPlus Energy LLC | — | Samsung SDI audited accounts |
| Ownership | Samsung SDI 51% / FCA US (Stellantis) 49% | — | Samsung SDI audited accounts |
| Announced nameplate (full build) | 67 GWh (Plant 1: 33 GWh, Plant 2: 34 GWh) | — | DOE project page; Stellantis announcement |
| Plant status | Plant 1 production began 2025; Plant 2 scheduled 2027 | — | StarPlus project page |
| DOE/FFB facility ceiling | $7.541B | $4.132B (amended Sept 4, 2026) | DART filing, Sept 4 |
| Samsung guarantee (51%) | $3.846B | $2.107B | DART filing, Sept 4 |
| Samsung collateral | — | Entire 51% interest ($845.07M) pledged through Dec 15, 2035 | DART filing, Sept 4 |
| Samsung shareholder loan limit | — | KRW 1.429T ($1.066B at KRW 1,341.10/$), 5.01%, through Dec 2028 | DART filing, Sept 9 |
| Entity revenue | KRW 56.3B | KRW 931.1B | Samsung SDI audited accounts |
| Entity net income (loss) | (KRW 33.7B) | KRW 123.1B | Samsung SDI audited accounts |
| Entity operating cash flow | — | (KRW 125.0B) | Samsung SDI audited accounts |
| §45X credit amount | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | ¹ |
| §45X claimant entity | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | ¹ |
| Utilization rate | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | ² |
| ASP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | |
| EV / ESS revenue mix | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | |
| Stellantis purchases | — | €296M | Stellantis 20-F |
| Stellantis remaining commitment | — | €2.885B over 9 years from 2025 | Stellantis 20-F |
| External ESS contract | — | ~KRW 1.5T, 2026–2029, unnamed US buyer | Samsung SDI announcement |
¹ Samsung SDI recognizes AMPC at the consolidated level. Stellantis says StarPlus is "expected to receive" 45X credits. Neither filing identifies the Form 7207 claimant, the monetization method, or the contractual allocation between shareholders.
² Neither Samsung SDI nor StarPlus publishes a nameplate-based utilization rate, line-level output, yield, or customer-qualified GWh for any StarPlus line.
³ Quarterly entity data does not exist in the public record. Samsung consolidates StarPlus and records Stellantis's 49% as non-controlling interest, but the consolidation absorbs StarPlus's quarterly economics into the battery segment without surfacing them. The trailing-quarter decomposition this template normally provides cannot be performed at the route level.
Pass 1 — 45X isolation
StarPlus's KRW 123.1 billion net income could be substantially or entirely composed of production-credit income. It could also be organic. The filings do not distinguish the two.
Samsung SDI's consolidated accounts recognize AMPC "expected to be received" for US-manufactured and sold batteries. Stellantis's climate report says StarPlus is expected to continue receiving §45X credits. Missing from the record: the legal claimant on Form 7207, whether StarPlus files as a partnership making the elective-pay election or whether Samsung claims at the parent level, the dollar amount recognized in 2025, and how the benefit splits between the 51% and 49% shareholders.
Under IRS final §45X regulations, the eligible taxpayer is generally the producer. In a contract-manufacturing arrangement the parties can designate the claimant; in a partnership the producing entity can make the elective-pay election directly. StarPlus's federal tax classification is not publicly disclosed, so neither path can be ruled in or out.
For scale: Samsung SDI's consolidated AMPC was KRW 80.5 billion in Q1 2026 and KRW 107.7 billion in Q2 2026, as recorded in Issue #7 and Issue #12. Those figures cover all US production, not StarPlus alone, and they cannot be allocated downward. The margin question a procurement team would actually want answered — does this route earn anything without the credit — has no public answer.
Neither Samsung SDI nor Stellantis discloses the §45X credit amount, the claimant entity, or the shareholder allocation for StarPlus. The route's entire reported net income — KRW 123.1 billion — falls within the plausible range of its production-credit entitlement.
Pass 2 — Utilization trend
There is no utilization data at the StarPlus entity level — none of the metrics this template normally tracks (nameplate-based rate, line-level output, yield, customer-qualified GWh) are disclosed. The second derivative has nothing to attach to.
The indirect signals: revenue moved from KRW 56.3 billion to KRW 931.1 billion, consistent with a ramp from initial production to meaningful output. Stellantis purchased €296 million of StarPlus batteries in 2025 — roughly KRW 440–460 billion at prevailing rates — against KRW 931.1 billion of entity revenue. The residual is unexplained in the filing; it could be other customers, intercompany sales, or some mix.
Samsung's Q3 2025 IR targeted approximately 30 GWh of US ESS capacity by year-end 2026. The Q4 2025 IR separately referenced 20 GWh of "full-capacity sales" of ESS prismatic batteries. The two figures measure different things — installed capacity versus sales volume — and Samsung has not reconciled them. ETNews reported in June that three of Plant 1's four lines are designated for ESS: one NCA line of approximately 7 GWh operating, two LFP lines of approximately 12 GWh under conversion. That is reporter-sourced and has not been confirmed by either shareholder.
The entity's negative operating cash flow of KRW 125.0 billion against positive net income fits a ramp-phase working-capital expansion. It would also fit a route booking credit income ahead of cash receipt. Samsung SDI's Q2 2026 battery-segment operating profit of KRW 159.3 billion coexisted with consolidated AMPC of KRW 107.7 billion and an unquantified tariff refund, neither separable at the segment level, as documented in Issue #12. Whether StarPlus's cash profile reflects the same accrual timing or a distinct ramp dynamic is not determinable from the filings.
The denominator compounds the problem. Plant 1's nameplate is 33 GWh. If three of four lines are converting to ESS, EV-available capacity is roughly one line. Lines under conversion produce nothing. The effective denominator at any given month depends on how many lines were simultaneously producing, which is not disclosed for any month.
Pass 3 — Guidance vs. actuals
Samsung's Q2 2026 earnings release said the company was preparing "timely mass production" of US-made prismatic LFP during H2 2026. MoneyToday's report of the Q2 call quoted management targeting cell production in October and supply of SBB 2.0 — Samsung's containerized ESS product — to customers by year-end. A separate ETNews report placed the first 273 Ah LFP line's target in September. September and October may describe different milestones (line readiness versus cell production), but neither source defines the gates tightly enough to confirm that reading. I am working from English-language IR summaries and trade press rather than Korean-language transcripts; milestone definitions are exactly the kind of detail that survives only in the primary language.
Cathode supply for October is where the timeline is thinnest. Samsung's L&F agreement runs to approximately KRW 1.6 trillion and supports StarPlus LFP production, but Samsung says deliveries begin in 2027. MoneyToday reported that Samsung had secured 2026 LFP cathode volume through "multiple domestic and US partnerships" without naming a supplier. The gap between an October cell-production target and a 2027 delivery start from the named supplier is publicly unresolved.
The L&F contract carries its own structural risk. L&F's KRX filing gives a contract period from March 30, 2026 through December 2029, with ±25% annual volume flexibility and a clause permitting suspension of some or all supply if the parties cannot agree on price. The named cathode supplier starts in 2027 under a contract with a price-disagreement exit, and the suppliers covering 2026 have not been identified.
Financing perimeter
The three template passes were built for company-level earnings. Route-level work needs a fourth layer: the financing and collateral structure that determines whether a route can sustain itself, distribute cash, or change hands. Future route decompositions will carry this section.
The three DART filings landed during US Labor Day week. I have no basis to read intent into the timing, but the practical effect is that a $3.4 billion reduction in federal lending capacity, a nine-year equity pledge, and a trillion-won shareholder loan extension all entered the Korean disclosure system while US counterparties were largely offline.
DOE facility ceiling: Cut from $7.541 billion to $4.132 billion. The DOE's own project page still shows the original amount, last updated December 2024. No reviewed filing explains the reduction. Three readings fit: the project spent less than planned and the undrawn commitment was cancelled; the project was rescoped, with Plant 2 or portions of Plant 1 no longer financed as originally structured; or other capital replaced part of the federal facility. Stellantis's H1 2026 filing reported a €2.848 billion StarPlus commitment at mid-year, and its year-end 2025 filing showed €2.373 billion drawn. Different dates, different measures, and no complete roll-forward to the amended September ceiling.
Equity pledge: Samsung's entire 51% interest — valued at $845.07 million — is pledged to DOE/FFB through December 15, 2035, including associated dividend rights. Samsung cannot sell, transfer, or encumber its StarPlus stake without DOE consent for nine years.
Shareholder loan: KRW 1.429 trillion limit at 5.01% through December 2028. The filing does not confirm the drawn amount.
Stellantis's 20-F separately notes that StarPlus's debt agreements restrict distributions and repayment of shareholder loans. Cash generated at the entity may not move freely to either parent.
Sourcing decision frame
StarPlus is the only operating US production route for Samsung SDI's prismatic ESS cells, which is why the route matters to anyone qualifying a non-Chinese prismatic supply for a US project. The KRW 1.5 trillion external contract confirms that at least one non-Stellantis buyer secured access. It does not reveal how. Whether Stellantis consented, whether Samsung holds unilateral authority over uncommitted capacity, and whether comparable access is available to a second external buyer are all undisclosed, and Stellantis's €2.885 billion remaining purchase commitment is a standing claim on the same output. The margin question remains unanswered: no public filing supports a 45X-adjusted view of this route's economics. Samsung's 51% is pledged through 2035, narrowing the range of outcomes available to either parent — no sale, no transfer, no encumbrance without DOE consent for nine years. October is the date to watch. If StarPlus produces LFP cells on schedule, the conversion timeline holds and the ESS capacity starts populating with real output. If it slips, the external contract's 2026 deliveries rest on NCA cells from a single operating line, and the unnamed 2026 cathode supply becomes the constraint worth pricing.
-
Samsung-Sungrow cell procurement: ESS News reported September 9, citing one unnamed source, that Sungrow and Samsung were moving forward with cell procurement primarily for US deliveries, though neither company confirmed and no volume, value, or schedule was disclosed.
-
Hungary's Göd enforcement risk: Hungary's government cited Samsung SDI's Göd plant by name when announcing a proposed battery-industry environmental authority with fines up to 0.5% of annual net revenue under a three-strikes framework, adding route-specific operating risk to Samsung's European production base.
-
Korean EV share erosion accelerating: SNE's September 9 release showed the three Korean makers' combined ex-China EV battery share fell from 37.6% to 27.2% through July despite the overall ex-China market growing 25.8% YoY to 316.2 GWh, with Samsung SDI contracting 29.4% — the steepest decline among the three.
-
SK On's NeoVolta financing chain: NeoVolta borrowed $20 million at 10% interest in September with substantially all assets pledged as collateral, making its factory ramp and financing capacity part of the order-conversion chain for SK On's signed 9 GWh ESS supply agreement.

