Tier Summary
| Supply-Chain Rung | What It Produces | Observed Investment Range | Tier-3 Viable? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Collection & Aggregation | Sorted, discharged battery packs | Below manufacturing-deal scale | Logistics operation, not a sector target |
| Mechanical Processing / Black-Mass Production | Black mass (mixed nickel, cobalt, lithium, manganese, graphite powder), separated copper, aluminum, steel | $30M–$100M (editorial estimate; comparators did not disclose) | Yes |
| Hydrometallurgical Recovery | Nickel sulfate, cobalt sulfate, lithium carbonate, manganese sulfate | $75M–$485M (Cirba Lancaster expansion through Li-Cycle Rochester) | Conditional |
| Pyrometallurgical Recovery | Metal alloys via high-temperature smelting | No current U.S. standalone comparator | No |
| Refined-Material Production | Cathode active material, anode copper foil, battery-grade graphite | $310M–$3.5B (Ascend Apex 1 through Redwood Carolina Campus) | No |
| Component Remanufacturing | Remanufactured battery modules or cells | No established U.S. facility class | No |
Mechanical processing has facility comparators in micropolitan and small-county markets. Hydrometallurgical recovery is viable under a narrow condition set: municipal wastewater capacity that can accept pretreated heavy-metal discharge, a labor pool with chemical-processing experience, and rail service for bulk reagents. The rung's recent record also includes two financing failures at scale, which is part of the evaluation. Three rungs are out of scope, and one announced category does not yet exist in the U.S. as a distinct facility class.
Electronics recycling shares mechanical-separation site requirements at the first viable rung. Cyclic Materials' McBee, South Carolina project is a direct comparator. Downstream, electronics diverges into rare-earth separation rather than battery-metal hydrometallurgy. This piece covers the battery chain; cities evaluating electronics-recovery prospects can use the mechanical-processing gates below as a starting framework.
Tiers Out of Scope
Pyrometallurgical recovery has no current U.S. standalone battery-metal smelter in the public record. Blue Whale Materials' Bartlesville, Oklahoma facility includes thermal pretreatment, which is a different unit operation than full-scale smelting: different emissions profile, different slag volumes, different capital requirement. The Bartlesville air permit is a synthetic minor, meaning the company accepted enforceable limits to stay below major-source thresholds. A full smelter would likely require Title V major-source permitting and slag-disposal determinations under 40 CFR 261.20–261.24. Nothing in the record supports a tier-3 cold start.
Refined-material production requires $300 million to $3.5 billion in capital and proximity to gigafactory customers. Redwood Materials' two integrated campuses (Storey County, Nevada and Berkeley County, South Carolina) sit near Panasonic, Tesla, and southeastern automotive operations. Ascend Elements' planned $310 million Hopkinsville facility filed Chapter 11 in April 2026. Capital scale, OEM proximity, and qualification risk together place this rung outside tier-3 competition.
Component remanufacturing does not appear in the reviewed U.S. facility record as a distinct facility class. Announced projects produce recovered metals, chemical salts, cathode material, or copper foil.
Collection and aggregation is viable anywhere with warehouse space, fire-code compliance, and highway access. It is a logistics operation below manufacturing-deal scale. It matters as the upstream feedstock layer that makes a mechanical-processing pitch credible, but it is not itself a sector target.
Mechanical Processing and Black-Mass Production
What this rung produces and who buys it
Mechanical processing shreds lithium-ion batteries and separates the output into black mass, a powder containing recoverable nickel, cobalt, lithium, manganese, and graphite, plus copper, aluminum, and steel fractions. Black mass is the feedstock for hydrometallurgical recovery downstream, where it is dissolved and separated into individual battery-grade chemical salts. Buyers are the companies operating or building those hydromet facilities. Cyclic Materials' McBee, South Carolina project applies similar mechanical separation to electronics, recovering copper, aluminum, steel, and mixed rare-earth oxide for a different set of downstream customers.
Why it's moving to smaller markets
The structural driver is feedstock proximity. End-of-life batteries and manufacturing scrap are generated across the country. Shipping intact lithium-ion batteries is expensive and carries thermal-runaway risk in transit. Dispersed processors sited closer to collection points reduce both the transportation cost and the hazard. Li-Cycle built its spoke-and-hub model on this logic: shred at dispersed spokes, ship the denser black mass to a centralized hub. The hub failed financially. The geographic rationale for dispersed preprocessing survived it.
The regulatory profile is lighter here than at hydromet, and the federal production tax credit does not attach at this rung at all. Under Treasury's final Section 45X regulations, the critical-mineral credit requires domestic production of an eligible form: lithium converted to lithium carbonate or hydroxide, nickel converted to nickel sulfate, cobalt converted to cobalt sulfate, or the pure metal at listed thresholds (99.9% lithium, 99% nickel, 99.6% cobalt). Mixed black-mass powder is not a listed form. A mechanical processor's economics run on black-mass sale price and throughput volume, with no federal production credit in the model.
Recent signals
Blue Whale Materials, Bartlesville, Oklahoma. Mechanical and thermal treatment of lithium-ion batteries in a micropolitan market. Synthetic-minor air permit with calculated potential emissions of 30.46 TPY NOx, 70.88 TPY VOC, 9.42 TPY HAPs. An April 2026 fire at an outdoor battery-storage area required 15+ hours of defensive operations and produced commitments to upgrade detection, suppression, and emergency planning.
Ecobat, Casa Grande, Arizona. Mechanical processing and black-mass production. The company reports commissioning in April 2024. Casa Grande sits between Phoenix and Tucson. Investment, employment, and acreage are not publicly disclosed.
Cyclic Materials, McBee, South Carolina. Co-located spoke-and-hub recovery from electronics and end-of-life products. Announced January 29, 2026. $82 million, 90 jobs, operation expected 2028. McBee is a small Chesterfield County community.
Attribute gates
Power. No comparator at this rung discloses facility MW demand. Editorial estimate from the equipment profile — industrial shredder banks, conveyors, magnetic and eddy-current separators, dust collection, ventilation — is 1 to 3 MW for a mid-scale facility. Thermal pretreatment (kilns or furnaces that drive off electrolyte before shredding) pushes toward the top of that range or past it. The Bartlesville permit identifies thermal processing equipment but states no electrical load. Three-phase service is standard and redundant feed is unlikely to be required at this capital scale. The question for the utility is whether 1 to 3 MW of firm capacity is deliverable at the candidate site without substation work.
Site. Editorial estimate: 10 to 40 acres, driven by outdoor battery-storage configuration and separation distances. Neither Bartlesville nor Casa Grande discloses acreage or building specifications publicly. The International Fire Code's outdoor storage limits (900 SF per outdoor storage area, 10-foot separation between areas, 20-foot setback from buildings and lot lines) determine the land requirement more than the processing building does. Building requirements: industrial clear height of 24 to 32 feet for material handling, a reinforced floor slab for shredder vibration and bulk material weight, and containment for electrolyte release during shredding. A brownfield with existing industrial building stock can work if the slab and containment can be retrofitted. Phase I and Phase II status matters here beyond the usual reason: incoming batteries are likely hazardous waste under RCRA, and prior contamination complicates the regulatory baseline the facility starts from.
Logistics. Batteries arrive by truck from dispersed collection points. Rail is not required at this rung. Interstate access matters for DOT-regulated hazmat shipment of black mass to downstream hydromet processors. The siting logic favors proximity to battery generation — population centers and manufacturing-scrap generators — over proximity to the eventual customer.
Environmental permit class. A facility that shreds batteries is a RCRA destination facility. EPA treats the shredding-to-black-mass process as exempt recycling under 40 CFR 261.6(c)(1), but storage of hazardous batteries or hazardous black mass before recycling generally requires a RCRA Part B permit unless a separate exclusion applies. A facility that processes continuously without pre-recycling storage operates under the reduced requirements of 261.6(c)(2). Whether the operation stores material before recycling or runs it as received is what sets the permit class, the timeline, and the cost. State hazardous-waste programs may be more stringent than the federal baseline. The question for the state environmental agency is whether it has processed RCRA destination-facility determinations before, and how long those ran.
The black-mass classification problem. EPA states that black mass is not a battery and cannot remain classified as universal waste. Its status — hazardous waste or commercial intermediate — depends on composition, hazardous characteristics, and whether further reclamation is required before use. EPA projected a proposed rule on black-mass management for February 2026 and a final rule for August 2027. As of this writing the NPRM has not been published.
The classification uncertainty affects how black mass can be transported, stored, and sold. The regulatory framework for this rung's primary product is unresolved.
Air permit. A synthetic-minor permit is achievable with enforceable emission limits, as Bartlesville shows. The controlling variable is whether potential emissions before limits exceed major-source thresholds — generally 100 TPY for criteria pollutants and 10/25 TPY for HAPs under Title V. Thermal pretreatment raises emissions; shredding alone produces less. Nonattainment areas carry lower thresholds, so attainment status is a first-pass check.
Fire suppression and containment. The 2024 International Fire Code sets checkable thresholds for lithium-ion storage: 900 SF maximum per outdoor storage area, a 10-foot height limit, 20-foot separation from buildings and lot lines. Indoor storage above 15 cubic feet requires a technical opinion and report, automatic sprinkler or approved alternative, and aspirating smoke or radiant-energy detection. Processing-area layout is a different matter. Separation between active shredding and battery intake, containment for electrolyte and thermal events during processing, and fire-water drainage isolation are set by the authority having jurisdiction and the facility's insurer, because no comprehensive fire standard exists for the recycling process itself. NFPA 855 covers stationary energy storage, not recycling. FM Data Sheet 7-112 expressly excludes cell recycling from its scope. Bartlesville is the most instructive public data point available: thermal runaway in consumer batteries, 15+ hours of response, mutual-aid activation, and post-incident commitments to a professional fire brigade, improved detection, dump tanks, and revised emergency plans. What an insurer will accept for a recycling operation sits above the model-code storage thresholds, is project-specific, and cannot be pre-cleared by the city.
Workforce. RCRA personnel training, job-specific, within six months, reviewed annually, under 40 CFR 262.17 or 264.16. HAZWOPER training for workers at a RCRA treatment, storage, and disposal facility: 24 hours initial under 29 CFR 1910.120(p), not the 40-hour general-site requirement sometimes cited as universal. DOT hazmat training for shipping roles. These are employer-certified and role-specific, which means a college certificate does not substitute for them. No U.S. community college has an established battery-recycling curriculum with published enrollment and completions. DOE's Battery Workforce Initiative has manufacturing pathways; recycling-specific curriculum was planned as of DOE's 2024 interim report and is not yet in place.
Feedstock supply radius. The sidebar covers collection geography in detail. For this rung the relevant point is that no public comparator discloses a standard maximum collection radius, and the observable siting pattern puts mechanical processors near battery sources rather than near the hydromet customer.
Hydrometallurgical Recovery
What this rung produces and who buys it
Hydrometallurgical recovery uses acid leaching, solvent extraction, and chemical precipitation to dissolve metals out of black mass and separate them into individual chemical salts: nickel sulfate, cobalt sulfate, lithium carbonate or hydroxide, manganese sulfate. Some configurations produce precursor cathode active material directly. Buyers are cathode producers and cell manufacturers. This is where Section 45X production tax credits attach and where the product-qualification clock starts.
Why it's conditionally viable
The strongest smaller-market comparator is an incremental expansion at an existing plant. Cirba Solutions' Lancaster, Ohio facility, in a city of roughly 40,000 inside the Columbus MSA, is adding hydrometallurgical recovery to a recycling operation already on the site. The DOE environmental assessment documents water demand, wastewater discharge, and environmental review at facility-level specificity, which is rare in this sector's public record. Ohio rail records describe roughly $250 million already invested and a further expansion above $200 million, with expanded startup anticipated late 2026 or early 2027.
Both greenfield hydromet projects at comparable scale failed at the transition from financing to commissioning. A city evaluating this rung should weight Lancaster's model — an existing operation on a proven site with phased capital — more heavily than the greenfield announcements.
Recent signals
Cirba Solutions, Lancaster, Ohio. Existing recycling operation expanding into hydrometallurgical recovery. The DOE environmental assessment covers a 37-acre project area within a 200-acre industrial park. $75 million federal award, $107.5 million recipient cost share. Rail expansion: five storage tracks, six cars each. 50 additional jobs, 85 retained. Expanded startup anticipated late 2026 or early 2027.
Li-Cycle, Rochester, New York. Planned hydromet hub for centralized black-mass refining. $485 million, 269 jobs, 35,000 metric tons of annual black-mass input. Construction paused October 2023. Li-Cycle entered creditor protection in May 2025. Glencore acquired specified assets in August 2025. No Rochester restart appears in the public record.
Ascend Elements, Hopkinsville, Kentucky. Planned hydromet refining and cathode-material production. $310 million first phase, 250 jobs. DOE grant terminated February 2025. Chapter 11 filed April 2026, incomplete property sold June 2026.
Cirba Solutions, Richland County, South Carolina. Planned integrated processing. Announced March 22, 2023. More than $300 million, more than 300 jobs. No independently verified commissioning milestone in the reviewed record.
Attribute gates
Power. No hydromet comparator discloses facility MW demand. Editorial estimate from the equipment profile — reactor heating, pumps, agitators, filtration, dryers, crystallizers, and process controls — is 3 to 10 MW depending on throughput and on whether the configuration includes calcination or drying. Redwood's Nevada campus reports 300+ MW of demand, but that covers an integrated campus producing cathode material and copper foil, not a standalone hydromet operation, and should not be used as a benchmark for this rung. Three-phase service with firm capacity is the minimum, along with a load-growth conversation with the utility. A facility at the top of the range may require substation work carrying a 12- to 18-month lead time.
Site. Lancaster's project occupies 37 acres inside a 200-acre industrial park, the best public benchmark available for a standalone hydromet expansion. Building requirements include chemical-resistant secondary containment for reagent storage (sulfuric acid, sodium hydroxide, organic solvents), reactor vessels needing 30+ feet of clear height in process areas, and drainage isolation to keep contaminated fire water or chemical spills out of storm sewers and surface water. Clean environmental status on a greenfield simplifies the RCRA baseline. Existing industrial parks with rail and utility infrastructure already in the ground are the natural fit, and Lancaster is exactly that configuration.
Logistics. Rail matters at this rung. Bulk reagents move more economically by rail car than by tanker truck, and black-mass receipt at volume benefits from rail service. Lancaster's rail expansion (five storage tracks accommodating six cars each, plus a scale and pipe rack) is direct evidence of the modal requirement. A site without rail is not automatically disqualified, but reagent delivery cost rises and may cap throughput. Interstate access is needed for outbound chemical product.
Water and wastewater. This is the controlling infrastructure gate. Lancaster's expansion projects roughly 115,295 GPD of process and sanitary wastewater to the municipal treatment plant, about 1.2% of the system's 10 MGD average flow, against roughly 332,266 GPD of total water demand. Redwood's Nevada campus was designed for zero process-water discharge. Which engineering approach a prospect brings changes what the city has to prove. A city pursuing the discharge model needs three verifications: total POTW capacity and current loading; the plant's ability to accept pretreated heavy-metal and acid/base discharge; and whether the user triggers significant-industrial-user status at 25,000+ GPD of process wastewater or 5%+ of plant capacity. EPA's Battery Manufacturing effluent guidelines at 40 CFR Part 461 do not cover battery-recycling wastewater, so direct dischargers receive site-specific NPDES limits set through best professional judgment. No universal gallons-per-ton benchmark exists in the public record.
Environmental permit class. No single federal rule assigns hydromet battery recyclers one standard RCRA permit class. Requirements follow from incoming-material classification, pre-recycling storage, and residual-waste streams. Air permitting follows from emissions at leaching, solvent extraction, precipitation, and drying, net of controls. Title V applies at 100 TPY criteria pollutant or 10/25 TPY HAPs, with lower thresholds in nonattainment areas.
Workforce. Chemical process operators, HAZWOPER-trained personnel, RCRA waste handlers. No battery-recycling training program with published enrollment and completions exists in the U.S. community college system, so the workforce gate is a labor-market question: does the local area hold workers with chemical-processing, refining, or industrial water-treatment experience who can be trained into recycling-specific roles? Cities with existing chemical manufacturing have an advantage here that no training program replicates on a project timeline.
Offtake and qualification. As I wrote in the precision-components tier map, a processing facility does not begin earning revenue when it opens. It begins earning revenue when a customer's quality organization accepts its output. DOE notes that even nominal 99.5% lithium-carbonate purity can be insufficient if individual electrochemically active impurities exceed a customer's limits. The public offtake agreements — Toyota-Redwood specifying minimum recycled content of 20% nickel, 20% lithium, and 50% cobalt in cathode material, and Panasonic-Redwood for cathode material and copper foil — disclose product categories and recycled-content commitments. They do not disclose impurity limits, sample-qualification timelines, or the interval from first sample to accepted commercial lot. No defensible universal qualification duration emerged from the public record. Construction, commissioning, product sampling, customer approval, and first accepted shipment are separate milestones, and the elapsed time between them is not publicly documented for any comparator reviewed here.
Section 45X. The critical-mineral production credit, 10% of qualifying production costs, applies when recycled material is transformed domestically into an eligible form: lithium carbonate or hydroxide, nickel sulfate, cobalt sulfate, manganese sulfate, or graphite purified to 99.9% carbon. Qualifying through purified metal instead requires higher thresholds (99.9% lithium, 99% nickel, 99.6% cobalt, 99.7% manganese). The credit phases down starting 2031: 75% in 2031, 50% in 2032, 25% in 2033, zero after that.
A facility breaking ground in 2027 that takes 18 to 24 months to commission, plus additional time to qualify output with a customer, may see two full-credit years or fewer before the 75% phase-down begins in 2031. That compresses the window for any city not already in conversation with an operator.
-
EPA's black-mass rulemaking: EPA projected a proposed rule on lithium-battery universal-waste modifications and black-mass management for February 2026, but the NPRM has not been published as of this writing — watch for it, because the final classification will determine whether your mechanical processor's primary product ships as hazardous waste or commercial intermediate.
-
Lancaster expansion commissioning: Ohio rail records anticipated Cirba Solutions' expanded hydrometallurgical startup in late 2026 or early 2027, which would make it the first independently documented smaller-city hydromet facility to reach operation and the strongest proof point for the incremental-expansion model.
-
Rochester Hub under Glencore: Glencore completed its acquisition of specified Li-Cycle subsidiaries and assets in August 2025, but no restart timeline or commissioning plan for the Rochester hydromet hub has appeared in the public record — a restart would materially change the competitive landscape for centralized black-mass refining.
-
Battery Workforce Initiative recycling pathways: DOE's BWI publishes national-guideline-standard pathways for battery-manufacturing roles, and its 2024 interim report said recycling-specific curriculum was planned — the first published community-college program with enrollment capacity and annual completions would give cities a workforce proof artifact that currently does not exist.

