Minth Group, a China-headquartered automotive-components manufacturer, announced March 6, 2026, a $430 million-plus investment in a nearly one-million-square-foot campus on approximately 400 acres of the former Republic Steel/Gulf States Steel property in Gadsden, Alabama. The company projects 1,325 jobs producing plastic and aluminum components and battery housings for Hyundai's Montgomery assembly plant and Kia's West Point, Georgia, operation. Ground broke August 3, 2026. Production is targeted for 2027. Gadsden is a city of 33,086 in Etowah County, MSA population 103,886.
What the company needed
Minth already runs U.S. capacity. The company operates a trim and molding plant in Michigan acquired in 2007 and a plastics and body-parts plant in Lewisburg, Tennessee, sited in 2017 to serve Mercedes-Benz Alabama. A February 2026 joint venture with Aisin and Toyota Tsusho in Ontario adds aluminum body-frame and battery-structural capacity for the continent. The company's 2025 annual report describes the Alabama site as surrounded by more than ten major client factories.
Each of those plants sits inside regional truck range of the OEM customers it supplies, which is the pattern Gadsden extends. The requirement profile implied by the project:
Acreage. Roughly 400 acres for a phased campus approaching one million square feet. Contiguous industrial parcels at that scale eliminate most available inventory in tier-3 markets before any other criterion is applied.
OEM proximity. Same-day truck access to Hyundai Motor Manufacturing Alabama in Montgomery (~154 road miles, ~2 hours 54 minutes) and Kia Georgia in West Point (~114 road miles, ~2 hours 46 minutes). (Observable: OSRM routing from site coordinates to plant addresses; model estimates, not disclosed logistics schedules.) Body trim and plastic components tolerate longer delivery radii than seats or tire-and-wheel assemblies. Vendor-managed inventory or third-party sequencing operations extend the effective range further.
Product type. Plastic components, aluminum components, battery housings. The public record does not disclose part numbers, delivery cadence, or whether Minth will deliver just-in-sequence — parts arriving in the order the assembly line consumes them, which imposes tight distance limits — or batch-ship through a cross-dock.
Workforce. 1,325 positions phased over three-plus years. BLS counted 3,570 production occupations in the Gadsden MSA in May 2025, at a production-occupation location quotient of 1.95. Minth's full projection equals 37% of that existing count. The phased ramp and the MSA's broader commute-shed soften the ratio. It remains a large draw on a small labor market.
Utility infrastructure. Alabama Power, Spire, and Gadsden Water Works serve the area. No reviewed record discloses Minth's electric demand, service voltage, gas volume, water requirement, or wastewater discharge profile. At the August groundbreaking, Mayor Craig Ford told WBRC that the parties were "working on utilities right now with water, drainage, sewage, and everything else." Five months after announcement, utility and road work were still active delivery conditions rather than settled site attributes.
How the field narrowed
Four filters do the work here: acreage, OEM-cluster geography, brownfield land economics, and occupational density. The first two are threshold tests. The second two are where Gadsden's specific position shows.
Acreage at scale. A 400-acre contiguous industrial parcel is rare in any tier-3 market. Former heavy-industrial sites — steel, aluminum smelting, chemical processing — are among the few property types that deliver this footprint with industrial zoning already in place. Cities without a legacy heavy-industrial site of comparable acreage, or a greenfield parcel already zoned and served at that scale, were not candidates. (Inferred: standard site-selection logic for campus-scale automotive facilities; Minth has not disclosed its long list or elimination criteria.)
OEM customer geography. Minth's annual report frames the site as positioned within a multi-customer cluster. For a plant serving Hyundai Montgomery and Kia West Point simultaneously, the competitive geography is a corridor through northeastern Alabama and western Georgia — the overlap zone of a two-to-three-hour drive-time radius from both plants. Markets outside that overlap were excluded before anyone looked at their sites. (Inferred: the specific radius threshold is not publicly stated; the overlap zone is derived from the two OEM addresses and standard automotive-component logistics windows.)
The brownfield. The former Gulf States Steel property is a 760-acre EPA-tracked site with documented contamination including asbestos, coal tar, mercury compounds, metals, and VOCs. The sitewide label is not the operative fact. A 2018 federal court decision established that Gadsden Industrial Park LLC bought more than 400 acres and associated buildings for $6.3 million in 2002, deliberately excluding roughly 200 eastern acres containing settlement lagoons, landfills, and the large north and south slag piles because of potential environmental liability. EPA's removal actions — stabilizing waste-oil lagoons, dismantling the coke plant and powerhouse, addressing slag-pile leachate — ran across the broader property, but the most prominent contamination sources sat on the excluded eastern acreage.
Etowah County parcel records show 12 parcels totaling approximately 419 acres now owned by Minth Big & Beautiful Alabama LLC, all transferred from Gadsden Industrial Park under a single 2026 deed. The chain of title runs through the 2002 purchase that excluded the worst parcels.
What the record does not establish: parcel-specific remediation completion for each of the 12 Minth parcels, whether institutional controls or deed restrictions remain on any of them, or whether EPA has issued a parcel-level Ready for Reuse determination. EPA's reuse page describes the 760-acre property as "in reuse," which is a sitewide designation and does not resolve to individual parcels. The deed price and any environmental indemnification between Gadsden Industrial Park and Minth are not visible in accessible county records.
What the brownfield delivered is 400-plus acres of industrially zoned land with existing structures and a title chain that routed around the most contaminated ground. It also likely depressed land cost relative to a comparably sized greenfield. Whether Minth negotiated environmental protections in the deed or carried environmental insurance is not documented publicly.
Production-occupation density. The 1.95 location quotient signals an existing manufacturing labor base. The MSA's 620 assemblers and fabricators, 240 cutting/punching/press-machine operators, 140 coating and painting workers, and 120 molding and casting workers map to Minth's plastic and aluminum component lines. Mean production wage of $19.09/hour sits below Minth's projected average of $23.65/hour, which is a recruitment advantage against incumbent employers. ACCS board minutes identify Gadsden State Community College's advanced-manufacturing programs as a factor in the selection. No executed training agreement, cohort commitment, or funding amount appears in any reviewed record.
The incentive architecture
Gadsden's package runs through Alabama's Chapter 9B statutory abatement, a different instrument from the negotiated PILOTs and graduated payment schedules this section has examined in prior cases.
Chapter 9B mechanics. The Tax Incentive Reform Act of 1992 permits abatement of state and local noneducational property taxes and most construction-related transaction taxes for qualifying industrial projects. Educational levies survive by statute: the state's one-mill educational property tax, local education-earmarked property taxes, and 0.75 percentage points of state sales/use tax all remain due. The property-tax abatement can run up to 20 years. Years 1–10 require a municipal resolution; years 11–20 require separate action by the city, county, and governor. The company applies, the municipality adopts a resolution and executes a written agreement, and the package is filed with the Alabama Department of Revenue within 90 days.
The statute requires the agreement to record good-faith projections for investment, employment, and payroll. It sets no minimum capital-investment threshold for a new project and no job-count or wage-floor trigger comparable to an Alabama Jobs Act agreement. The property benefit terminates if the approved property ceases qualifying industrial use for six consecutive months.
What Gadsden granted. Resolution R-140-26 grants Minth ten years of noneducational property-tax abatement plus construction-related transaction-tax relief. The attached agreement estimates:
- Noneducational property-tax abatement: ~$2.064 million/year, ~$20.64 million over ten years
- Construction-related transaction-tax abatement: ~$17.98 million
- Building, electrical, gas, mechanical/HVAC, and plumbing permit fees: waived, no dollar estimate provided
The agreement covers one parcel on its face — PPIN 89995, roughly 132 acres — not all 12 Minth parcels. Employment projections run 50, 165, 706, and 404 across four periods, summing to 1,325, with corresponding payroll figures. The agreement labels these good-faith projections. The compliance clause lets Gadsden terminate and pursue equitable relief if Minth violates a provision or materially misrepresents information. The public document contains no job-trigger schedule, no proportional benefit reduction, and no metric-specific clawback formula.
State-level instruments. Alabama Commerce's incentive registry records $22.15 million in estimated Jobs Credit and $24.73 million in estimated Investment Credit for Minth, effective February 27, 2026. These are projected tax credits, not cash disbursements. The Investment Credit can reach 1.5% of qualified capital investment annually for up to ten years. Alabama law requires the state project agreement to recover proportional unearned credits when employment, wages, or investment fall short. The executed state agreement — annual performance schedule, measurement dates, cure periods — is not published.
No AIDT training appropriation, site-preparation grant, or infrastructure co-investment specific to Minth surfaced in any reviewed state or municipal record.
Disclosed package total:
| Instrument | Estimated Value | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Local noneducational property-tax abatement | ~$20.64M | 10 years |
| Construction-related transaction-tax abatement | ~$17.98M | Construction period |
| State Jobs Credit | ~$22.15M | Per statute |
| State Investment Credit | ~$24.73M | Up to 10 years |
| Permit-fee waiver | Unvalued | — |
| Total disclosed | ~$85.5M |
That is roughly $85.5 million in estimated tax relief against a $430M-plus announced investment. The land transaction price is undisclosed.
Structural comparison. Readers who followed the Weirton/Form Energy reconstruction in Issues #3 and #6 will recognize the difference in enforcement design. Weirton's PILOT was a negotiated replacement-payment schedule on publicly held property — $40,000 in years one and two, graduated percentages of normal tax through year ten — carrying employment benchmarks and proportional reductions. Gadsden's Chapter 9B abatement is a statutory exemption on privately held property, with good-faith projections and a general compliance clause. There is no graduated payment schedule and no FTE-triggered benefit adjustment. The state recapture provision on the Jobs and Investment Credits is the only metric-specific enforcement mechanism anywhere in the disclosed package, and its operative terms sit in the unpublished state agreement.
What appears to have been decisive
Acreage and OEM-cluster geography set the threshold. What separated Gadsden from other sites that could have cleared both thresholds is a narrower question, and Minth has not disclosed its scoring model or competing locations. (Inferred throughout this section.)
Land economics is the most plausible differentiator. Gadsden Industrial Park acquired 400-plus acres of industrially zoned former steel property for $6.3 million in 2002. Whatever markup Minth paid 24 years later, the per-acre cost of a remediation-cleared brownfield with existing structures and rail infrastructure is unlikely to match a comparably sized greenfield requiring grading, rezoning, and utility extension from scratch. The deed price is undisclosed, so this cannot be confirmed. The implication is still direct: the land transaction may have functioned as an incentive whose value exceeds the formal $85.5 million tax package. A director sitting on a comparable brownfield — former steel, smelting, chemical processing — should be pricing that asset with this possibility in view.
Legacy utility infrastructure was not the differentiator. Read Mayor Ford's August 2026 statement literally:
"Working on utilities right now with water, drainage, sewage, and everything else."
Five months after announcement, utility capacity was an open delivery condition. (Inferred: if utility infrastructure had been a confirmed asset at deal time, it would not require active negotiation at groundbreaking.) The deal closed on geography, acreage, and land economics with utility capacity still unresolved, which is a different sequence from the one most site-readiness frameworks assume.
Downstream demand
A $430 million automotive-components campus with 1,325 projected employees pulls supply-chain and service demand into its corridor. The specifics depend on product mix, but plastic and aluminum automotive components carry identifiable facility profiles:
-
Raw-material logistics. Resin compounding or distribution for plastic injection molding; aluminum billet or coil supply for extrusion and stamping. A regional resin distribution depot typically requires 50,000–100,000 SF of warehouse space with heavy truck access, bulk storage silos, and rail service for inbound railcar volumes. Suppliers within 200 miles reduce freight cost and inventory carry. (Inferred: standard facility profile for regional resin distribution serving injection-molding operations of this scale.)
-
Tooling and die maintenance. Injection molds and stamping dies require periodic refurbishment. A regional tool-and-die shop serving a plant of this scale needs 10,000–25,000 SF with minimum 20-foot clear height, overhead crane capacity of 10–20 tons, CNC machining centers, CMM inspection, and three-phase 480V service. Typical headcount: 10–25 skilled-trades positions. (Inferred: industry benchmarks for tool-and-die shops serving automotive injection-molding and stamping operations.)
-
Packaging and returnable-container management. Sequenced delivery to an OEM requires specialized dunnage — the reusable racks and inserts that hold parts in delivery order — and container-wash capacity. A container-wash operation runs 15,000–30,000 SF with industrial water supply, wastewater discharge permitting for wash effluent, concrete floors with trench drainage, and forklift staging. Headcount: 15–30 per shift. These locate inside the same logistics corridor as the plant they serve. (Inferred: standard facility profile for returnable-container operations in automotive supply chains.)
-
Temporary and contract labor. A 1,325-person ramp phased over three-plus years will draw on staffing agencies with industrial-production capability in the Gadsden labor shed. Industry ratios for phased automotive-plant ramps run 15–25% temporary labor at peak staffing, implying 200–330 temporary positions during the heaviest hiring phases. (Inferred: standard temporary-labor ratios for phased automotive manufacturing ramps.)
Cities within 60–120 miles of Gadsden holding available industrial space in these ranges, three-phase power, appropriate discharge permitting, and production-occupation workforce density have a mapping exercise available to them now. The same OEM-proximity filter that selected Gadsden defines the corridor where Minth's tier-2 suppliers will have to sit.
What the public record does not establish
For a deal of this scale in a metro of 104,000, the disclosure gap is wide:
- Deed price and environmental-liability allocation between Gadsden Industrial Park and Minth
- Parcel-specific remediation status and any continuing environmental controls on the 12 Minth parcels
- Project-specific utility capacity, upgrade costs, and which party bears them
- The executed state project agreement, including annual credit schedules and performance measurement
- Any AIDT or community college training commitment, scope, or funding
- The delivery cadence and sequencing obligations for Hyundai and Kia that would confirm whether Gadsden's distance sits inside a hard logistics threshold or a soft preference
The local abatement agreement's compliance mechanism amounts to general termination authority and equitable relief, with employment figures presented as good-faith projections rather than contractual gates. The state credits carry statutory recapture, but the operative terms are in the unpublished agreement.
The $20.64 million property-tax estimate is therefore secured by a provision that does not specify what level of underperformance would trigger enforcement, or who would measure it.
- Form Energy's operating proof: Form Factory 1 in Weirton has reached commercial production and shipped its first product, but its PILOT employment benchmarks of 178 FTEs in year three and 750 in year ten remain future tests against a compliance structure with no public certification mechanism.
- KTH Parts in Seguin: A $127 million Japanese-owned automotive body-structure project approved in July 2026 pairs municipal Chapter 380 incentives with a $67 million Japan Bank for International Cooperation loan, exposing a capital stack that combines local performance agreements with sovereign policy-bank financing.
- Janicki's Great Falls timeline: Earthwork has started on the $830 million aerospace campus, but the TIF-financed park infrastructure bond closed at $2.845 million par with semiannual payments through 2046, and no project-specific utility commitment, workforce agreement, or state award document has surfaced publicly.
- PowerFlo in Williamstown: A data-center electrical-infrastructure manufacturer is acquiring the former Hino Motors plant for $20 million and 120–200 jobs, but the governor's announcement discloses no incentive package, purchase price, or utility commitment.

