In September 2022, Form Energy announced it would build its first commercial iron-air battery factory on the former Weirton Steel site in Weirton, West Virginia — population roughly 18,500. The commitment: approximately $760 million in investment, 750 jobs at an average salary of at least $63,000, and a 550,000-square-foot manufacturing facility. West Virginia committed approximately $290 million in state support. It was the largest single manufacturing announcement in the state's history.
The asset profile Weirton brought to the table: a 54-acre brownfield parcel on the former steel campus with rail access, a tri-state labor shed spanning West Virginia, Ohio, and Pennsylvania, and a state government willing to put roughly $290 million into site acquisition, infrastructure, and performance-conditioned incentives for a manufacturing technology that had never been built at commercial scale. Prior Groundbreak coverage (Issue #3, Issue #5) decomposed those instruments and mapped the post-selection buildout. It also identified what the public record could not confirm: no located authorization for the final ~$110 million state tranche, undisclosed operative agreements governing property transfer and employment gates, and a property title recorded at the county level differently than described to legislators.
Form Factory 1 is now operating. The company has shipped product. This piece measures every announced commitment against the operating record through August 2026.
400 Workers Against a 750-Job Gate
Three sources bracket the current headcount. CEO Mateo Jaramillo said "just over 400" in April 2026 (Observable: Weirton Daily Times, April 8, 2026). The company's site says "nearly 400" (Observable: Form Energy, current through August 2026). West Virginia's Division of Economic Development reported "over 400" in February 2026 (Observable: WV Division of Economic Development, February 24, 2026). Call it low 400s — 53% of the 750-job commitment.
That figure carries weight beyond the announcement. Under the structure described to legislators, the state retains ownership of the site until employment reaches 750 at an average salary of $63,000, and no sooner than five years after operations begin (Observable: WV Legislature, February 2023). Form is 350 workers short of the property transfer gate.
The workforce draws from three states. Jaramillo said approximately one-third of employees live in West Virginia, one-third in Ohio, one-third in Pennsylvania, with some specialized positions recruited from outside the tri-state area (Observable: Weirton Daily Times, April 2026). No public source breaks the headcount by role. No public source confirms whether the $63,000 average-salary threshold is being met at current staffing.
A May 2025 report put the number at about 450, including roughly 40 transfers from Form's Eighty Four, Pennsylvania operation. A February 2025 restructuring affected fewer than 5% of employees. The spread across these figures probably reflects some mix of turnover, differing inclusion rules, and ordinary imprecision in public statements — but the record does not distinguish among them (Inferred: three sources report different figures within a narrow range over six months, none of them reconciled).
Form's federal Project RAPID award, a DOE loan-program vehicle, projects up to 600 operations positions for a new 20 GWh production line by 2027. The ramp path exists on paper. Whether the state's performance conditions were written to accommodate a multi-phase buildout or assumed a single timeline is not determinable, because the operative agreements have not been disclosed.
Four hundred against 750 is not a failure at this stage of a phased buildout. But the gate's enforceability depends on terms the public cannot see — measurement dates, cure provisions, phase-adjusted benchmarks — which are exactly what would distinguish a deal on track from one in default.
$760 Million Announced, No Cumulative Figure Reported
No public record reports Form Energy's actual cumulative capital expenditure at Weirton on any basis: cash, placed-in-service, or committed contract. The Hancock County assessor's July 2026 record values the principal parcel at approximately $95 million, including roughly $93.4 million in building improvements (Observable: Hancock County assessor, July 2026). Assessed value follows the assessor's methodology, not the company's capital accounts, and does not function as a proxy for total investment (Inferred: assessment and capital expenditure are distinct measures governed by different standards).
Form announced a $750 million Series G equity raise on August 12, 2026, described as funding manufacturing scale-up and commercial deployments. The release assigns no Weirton-specific amount. The $760 million commitment and the $750 million raise are separate figures and cannot be netted against each other from anything public.
The $760 million circulates as established fact in every subsequent reference to this deal, and it has never been independently verified through public filings. That is common for announced deal values. It is also the number the state used to justify $290 million in public support.
The ~$290 Million State Package, Partially Verified
The original legislative account described approximately $290 million in state support across multiple instruments. The public record confirms some, partially confirms others, and cannot confirm the largest single tranche.
$75 million site acquisition and preparation. The Business Development Corporation of the Northern Panhandle purchased the principal 54.37-acre parcel on May 26, 2023 for $10.874 million (Observable: Hancock County assessor, Deed Book 894, page 856). The remaining ~$64 million presumably covers site preparation and infrastructure beyond the land price, though no public document itemizes those costs (Inferred: land purchase recorded at $10.874M against a $75M legislative figure). The BDC holds record title. Form's air-permit application describes site control through a "lease with West Virginia Development Authority / Business Development Corporation of Northern Panhandle" (Observable: WVDEP permit application). Whether WVEDA holds a mortgage, deed of trust, or other security interest against the property is not determinable from public filings.
$105 million appropriation. WVEDA's audited financial statements through June 30, 2025 confirm receipt of a $105 million appropriation on May 15, 2023 for Form Energy (Observable: WVEDA audited financials, FY2025). The statements report $175.6 million in performance-loan disbursements across WVEDA's entire portfolio during FY2025 without allocating that total by borrower.
~$110 million completion tranche. The original account described this as payable "once the project is complete." In September 2025, West Virginia's economic development secretary told legislators the state had "reviewed, acknowledged, approved, and advised the company" of the final financing committed by the prior administration (Observable: Joint Committee on Government and Finance, September 7, 2025). He did not state the amount, identify the instrument, describe performance conditions, or confirm that funds had been obligated or disbursed. WVEDA's public transaction repository shows Form approvals dated December 2022 and June 2023 and no subsequent Form-labeled action through June 2026. The FY2027 state budget contains no Form-specific appropriation.
This has moved since our Issue #3 coverage, which found no evidence of authorization at all. An administrative approval now exists on the record. The amount, legal instrument, funding source, obligation date, payment status, and recovery terms do not.
PILOT Terms and the Missing Compliance Record
The Hancock County Board of Education authorized the PILOT on February 26, 2024. The county commission approved its portion the same week. Local reporting supplies the payment schedule:
| Period | Payment | Employment Gate |
|---|---|---|
| Years 1–2 | $40,000 annually | — |
| Years 3–4 | 30% of normal real-property tax | 178 FTEs |
| Years 5–6 | 50% of normal real-property tax | — |
| Years 7–8 | 70% of normal real-property tax | — |
| Years 9–10 | 90% of normal real-property tax | 750 FTEs |
| After year 10 | Ordinary tax treatment | — |
(Observable: Weirton Daily Times, February 27, 2024)
The percentages are conditioned on employment benchmarks, with pro-rata reduction if benchmarks are missed. Roughly 70% of PILOT revenue goes to the school board, 30% to the county.
Form's ~400 workers exceed the 178-worker year-three threshold numerically, but compliance cannot be verified from outside. The measurement date, FTE definition, certification process, and cure provisions live in the executed agreement, which has not been released. The first PILOT assessment was scheduled for July 1, 2024. No located county, school-board, or GASB 77 disclosure confirms the $40,000 payment was billed or received. Weirton's latest audited financials (FY ending June 30, 2025) contain no Form Energy or PILOT entry, though the city is not a party — the county and school board are.
The escalation structure itself is worth studying. Payments scale with hiring performance and the taxing bodies recover revenue proportionally as jobs arrive. What is missing is the verification layer: who certifies compliance, on what date, using what FTE definition, and where that certification gets filed. A PILOT with employment gates and no publicly visible certification record leaves the granting bodies unable to demonstrate that their own agreement is being enforced.
Factory 1 Operating, Campus Timeline Slipped
Form marked the opening of Form Factory 1 and the start of trial production in September 2024. West Virginia confirmed by February 2026 that commercial production had begun and products had shipped — roughly a year behind the original end-2024 commercial production target (Observable: WV Division of Economic Development, February 24, 2026).
The full campus is not complete. Form announced expansion construction in October 2024, forecasting completion by end of 2025. Current company materials describe two electrode lines and a cell-assembly line under construction, with the plant reaching approximately 850,000 square feet by 2028. Jaramillo referenced a 1-million-square-foot facility in April 2026, a figure not reconciled with the company's own 850,000-square-foot description (Observable: Weirton Daily Times, April 2026; Inferred: the discrepancy may reflect total site footprint including non-manufacturing space versus manufacturing square footage, but no public source clarifies it).
Whether the $760 million commitment is measured against the initial factory or the full campus buildout determines what "complete" means for the state's completion conditions. The public record does not specify which construction scope triggers them.
The Title Structure the Public Record Shows
Legislators were told the state would own the property, with transfer to Form contingent on reaching 750 jobs at $63,000 average salary and no sooner than five years after operations begin. The current record shows the BDC as title holder, with Form occupying the site under a lease naming both WVEDA and the BDC (Observable: Hancock County assessor, July 2026; WVDEP permit application).
The BDC may hold title as the local development vehicle while WVEDA retains contractual security through the lease or a separate instrument (Inferred: the lease names both entities, which is consistent with a layered public-ownership structure of the kind described to legislators). The operative documents — the lease, any WVEDA security interest, the performance-conditioned transfer option — are not in the public record. The structure presented as public protection cannot be independently verified as functioning.
What the Record Adds Up To
Form Energy has delivered a completed factory, commercial production, product shipments, and approximately 400 jobs in a city that lost its steel mill two decades ago. For Weirton and the Northern Panhandle that is a material economic event, and nothing in the record suggests bad faith.
Whether the accountability structure around $290 million in state commitment is working is a different question from whether Form is performing. Multi-phase manufacturing buildouts routinely run behind announced timelines. Employment ramps over years. State incentive instruments often carry confidentiality provisions. All of that is ordinary. What accumulates here is the number of dimensions the public cannot check: the largest incentive tranche unverified in amount or payment, the investment commitment untestable against any public figure, PILOT compliance uncertifiable from outside, the property collateral structure undisclosed, and the employment gate tied to transfer terms no one outside the parties has seen. Any one of those gaps has a defensible explanation. The public justification for the package was stated in specific numbers; the verification available to the public is not.
Downstream Demand, Directional Only
Form has posted a vendor intake form soliciting capabilities in power processing, hydraulic presses, furnaces, coating lines, AGVs, robotics, automation integration, and injection molding — categories tied to the electrode and cell-assembly lines under construction. No supplier award, local-content target, or recurring purchasing total has been publicly reported. Iron-air chemistry runs on iron rather than lithium or cobalt, which puts feedstock logistics closer to conventional metals supply than to critical-minerals sourcing; Form currently buys iron from Sweden, and Jaramillo said in April 2026 the company is working toward U.S. Iron Range sourcing (Observable: Weirton Daily Times, April 2026). Detailed downstream and cluster-effect analysis is covered in the companion sidebar and will be updated as the supply chain materializes.
- WVEDA's next audit cycle: The authority's FY2025 financial statements reported $175.6 million in portfolio-wide performance-loan disbursements without allocating by borrower, so the FY2026 statements are the next opportunity to identify a Form-specific payment against the ~$110 million tranche.
- Hancock County GASB 77 disclosure: Neither the county nor the school board has published a Form-specific tax-abatement entry, and the executed PILOT agreement has not been publicly released, so the first GASB 77 cycle covering the July 2024 assessment date would establish whether the $40,000 year-one payment was billed and received.
- Project RAPID workforce reporting: The federal award's fact sheet projects up to 600 operations positions by 2027 and promises upper-quartile wages and a $20/hour minimum, making DOE's required progress reports the likeliest near-term source for occupation-level headcount and wage verification.
- Iron feedstock sourcing shift: Jaramillo told a Weirton audience in April 2026 that iron is currently sourced from Sweden and the company is working toward U.S. Iron Range procurement, a transition that would create a domestic supply-chain node worth tracking for volume, specification, and qualification timeline.

