Collection window: 2026-08-01 through 2026-08-15 Prime rate: 6.75% (Federal Reserve H.15, current through collection window) Cycle status: Inaugural collection. No prior-cycle loan data series exists. Treasure Valley: No Idaho-based peer institutions monitored this collection. Treasure Valley content limited to TechCU's own Idaho-market offers in the Promotional table below.
Peer cohort pending approval. No median, variance, trend, or position summary produced this issue.
As with the deposit-side baseline published 2026-08-15, this issue carries sourced observations and verification notes only.
- No standard borrower profile has been fixed for direct auto comparison, so auto cells carry posted minimum APRs (the "as low as" floors) rather than normalized effective rates. Normalization method documented separately.
- TechCU mortgage pricing returns only through a quote flow requiring borrower-specific inputs. No TechCU mortgage position available.
- HELOC margin over Prime is the cleanest comparison available this cycle. Prime is published, and several candidates disclose a contractual margin.
- Relationship discounts are excluded from all standing-rate observations unless applied automatically to every qualifying member. Where excluded, the magnitude is stated on the institution's row.
Observation Summary
TechCU values are posted or implied observations, not normalized effective rates. Candidate ranges reflect posted floors or disclosed standing rates. No peer median or variance computed.
| Product Group | TechCU Observation | Candidate Range | Position State |
|---|---|---|---|
| HELOC (margin over Prime) | +0.00% implied [V] | +0.00% to +0.75% | TechCU margin unconfirmed; peer cohort pending |
| New Auto 36–60 mo | 5.24% floor | 4.49%–5.63% floors | Borrower profile and peer cohort pending |
| New Auto 72 mo | 5.49% floor | 4.50%–5.75% floors | Borrower profile and peer cohort pending |
| Used Auto 36–60 mo | 5.49% floor | 4.49%–5.63% floors | Borrower profile and peer cohort pending |
| Used Auto 72 mo | 5.74% floor | 4.50%–5.75% floors | Borrower profile and peer cohort pending |
| Mortgage (30/15/ARM) | Not available | See mortgage grid | TechCU rate behind quote flow |
HELOC Peer Grid
Reference index: WSJ Prime, 6.75%. Introductory rates are noted inline and excluded from the standing-rate observations. Full terms appear in the promotional table below.
1st Nor Cal and San Francisco FCU do not appear. No HELOC rate was publicly posted on either institution's monitored rate page during this collection.
| Institution | Margin Over Prime | Standing APR | Intro Rate | Draw / Repay | LTV/CLTV Max | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TechCU | +0.00% implied | 6.75% | 5.75% (6 mo) | — | 80% LTV | [V] ^1 |
| Stanford FCU | +0.00% | 6.75% | 5.75% ADU only (12 mo) | 10-yr / 20-yr | 80% equity | [Confirmed] |
| Star One | [V] | 6.75% | — | 10-yr / 15-yr | 80% CLTV | [V] ^2 |
| Patelco | +0.50% min | 7.25% min | — | — | 80% CLTV | [Confirmed] ^3 |
| Provident | +0.75% / +0.50% rel. | 7.50% / 7.25% rel. | — | — | 70% CLTV | [V — source date blank] ^4 |
| First Tech | −0.25% to +3.875% | 6.75%–6.88% stated | — | — | Varies by profile | [Confirmed — stated profile] ^5 |
Adjustment notes:
^1 TechCU posts 6.75% for $10K–$250K at ≤80% LTV, effective 2026-08-01. The HELOC disclosure lists +0.00%, +0.50%, +0.75%, and +1.00% among margins "used recently" but assigns no margin to a current tier. 6.75% equals current Prime, arithmetically consistent with a +0.00% margin. Contractual confirmation unavailable from public sources. $500 early-closure fee within three years.
^2 Star One posts 6.75% for owner-occupied California property at ≤80% combined exposure. The early disclosure shows a zero-margin historical example for excellent credit. That is not confirmation of a current tier. Fees may apply above $250K.
^3 Patelco's 7.25% minimum implies a +0.50% margin. A 0.50% relationship discount, conditioned on automatic payments plus ≥$500/mo recurring deposits, reduces the rate to 6.75%. Discount excluded; magnitude 0.50%.
^4 The Provident rate page renders "Rates are valid as of" with no date populated. Collected 2026-08-15. The 7.25% relationship rate requires qualifying products or payroll direct deposit. $100 annual fee. The 70% CLTV maximum is the lowest in the candidate set.
^5 First Tech publishes two HELOC product lines. Stated-profile APRs (6.875% Flexity, 6.750% Non-Flexity) assume 740+ score, owner-occupied single-family, ≤$50K financed, ≤50% HCLTV. Margin ranges run −0.25% to +3.875% (Flexity) and −0.375% to +3.75% (Non-Flexity). Profile assumptions differ from the other candidates.
Auto Peer Grid
No standard borrower profile has been fixed for this comparison, so every value below is a posted minimum APR and every cell carries [Posted floor — effective rate undetermined]. Peer median and peer range columns suppressed pending peer cohort approval.
First Tech does not appear. The public loan rate page requires a state selection and returned isolated 60- and 84-month examples only; no complete term grid was collected.
| Term | TechCU | Stanford | Star One | Patelco | Provident | 1st Nor Cal | SFFCU |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New 36 mo | 5.24% | 4.49% ^† | 4.75% | 5.19% | 5.50% | 4.50% | 4.95% |
| New 48 mo | 5.24% | 4.49% ^† | 4.75% | 5.19% | 5.63% | 4.50% | 5.00% |
| New 60 mo | 5.24% | 4.49% ^† | 4.75% | 5.19% | 5.63% | 4.50% | 5.05% |
| New 72 mo | 5.49% | 4.62% ^† | 4.75% | 5.34% | 5.75% | 4.50% | 5.13% |
| Used 36 mo | 5.49% | 4.49% ^† | 4.75% | 5.39% | 5.50% | 4.50% | 5.45% |
| Used 48 mo | 5.49% | 4.49% ^† | 4.75% | 5.39% | 5.63% | 4.50% | 5.50% |
| Used 60 mo | 5.49% | 4.49% ^† | 4.75% | 5.39% | 5.63% | 4.50% | 5.55% |
| Used 72 mo | 5.74% | 4.62% ^† | 4.75% | 5.49% | 5.75% | 4.50% | 5.62% |
| Source date | 2026-08-01 | 2026-07-03 | 2026-07-24 | 2026-07-15 | [Blank] | 2026-08-15 | 2026-04-01 |
Adjustment notes:
- ^† Stanford: The posted 4.49% floor requires the highest credit tier and a maintained 1.00% Ambassador Loyalty+ discount. Ex-discount floor is approximately 1.00% higher. The floor applicable to a non-Ambassador borrower at the same credit tier is not separately published. Same posted floor for new and used.
- Star One: Uniform 4.75% floor across all monitored terms, new and used. Posted range extends to 8.75%.
- Patelco: Posted ranges extend to 17.99%. Floors shown are best-tier values.
- Provident: Source date field blank. Collected 2026-08-15. Rates published at three-decimal precision (5.625%, for example); displayed here rounded to two decimals. Same posted floors for new and used.
- 1st Nor Cal: Uniform 4.50% floor across all monitored terms, new and used. Requires FICO 780+.
- SFFCU: Source date 2026-04-01, four months before this collection window. Carried as observation, flagged stale. Tier structure not disclosed.
- TechCU: Lower rates apply below 90% LTV. Credit tier, transaction type, title work, mileage, and refinancing status can alter APR.
Mortgage Observations
TechCU mortgage rates return only through a quote flow requiring borrower-specific inputs. No public rate was retrieved, and no TechCU position is available. Values below are candidate observations with no TechCU rate available for comparison. All displayed values are APR, with the note rate in parentheses where published.
Profile and LTV assumptions differ across candidates, in one case by 20 points of LTV. Cross-column comparison requires an adjustment not performed here.
Stanford FCU, 1st Nor Cal, and San Francisco FCU do not appear. No mortgage rates were publicly posted on their monitored rate pages during this collection.
| Product | Star One | Patelco | Provident | First Tech |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30-yr Fixed | 6.612% (6.500%) | 6.583% (6.500%) | 6.647% (6.625%) | 7.053% (6.875%) |
| 15-yr Fixed | 6.175% (6.000%) | 6.128% (6.000%) | 6.035% (6.000%) | 6.283% (6.000%) |
| 5-yr ARM | 6.358% (5.875%) ^a | 6.129% (5.750%) ^b | 6.219% (5.875%) ^c | 6.611%–6.736% ^d |
| Points | Not stated | Not stated | Zero | −0.125 (30-yr); zero (other) |
| Profile | LTV/lock not printed ^e | 60% LTV, excellent credit ^f | Not stated; source date blank | 780+, 80% LTV, purchase ^g |
Adjustment notes:
^a Star One: product labeled "5-year fixed-to-adjustable." APR example uses a $100,000 loan amount.
^b Patelco: 5/1 ARM. Profile assumes 60% LTV, excellent credit, owner-occupied, DTI ≤40%, no subordinate financing.
^c Provident: 5/5 ARM. No 5/1 product displayed. Source date field blank. Collected 2026-08-15. Zero points on all products.
^d First Tech: 5/5 ARM at 6.736% (6.250%), 5/6 ARM at 6.611% (6.125%). Profile assumes 780+ score, owner-occupied single-family purchase, 20% down. The 30-yr fixed carries a lender credit of −0.125 points paired with a higher note rate; the 7.053% APR reflects remaining fees net of that credit.
^e Star One: LTV assumption and rate-lock period not printed alongside the rate package.
^f Patelco: the 60% LTV assumption is the most conservative in the candidate set. Rates at 80% LTV would be higher.
^g First Tech: the 780+ FICO threshold is the highest stated credit assumption in the candidate set.
Promotional / Campaign Loan Rates
Rates in this table are excluded from every grid and observation above. Captive manufacturer financing (subvented OEM rates) is not tracked as a peer benchmark.
| Institution | Product | Rate | Conditions | First Observed | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TechCU | HELOC intro | 5.75% APR (6 mo) | Applications before 2026-10-01; CA and ID; not available for existing TechCU HELOCs or refinances. Post-intro: 6.75%–7.25%. | 2026-08-15 | Active |
| Stanford FCU | ADU HELOC intro | 5.75% APR (12 mo) | California ADU financing, owner-occupied. Post-intro: 6.75%. | 2026-08-15 | Active |
| Provident | 5-yr fixed HELOC | 6.75% standard / 6.50% relationship | Introductory fixed-rate structure followed by Prime plus disclosed margin. Source date blank. | 2026-08-15 | Active |
| TechCU | Treasure Valley new auto discount | 0.25% discount → 4.99% "as low as" | Ada or Canyon County, Idaho. Eligible applicants only. | 2026-08-15 | Active |
Full promotional terms and cross-offer comparison documented in the Promotional Inventory sidebar published 2026-08-15.
- TechCU HELOC margin confirmation: TechCU's HELOC initial disclosure lists four margins "used recently" without assigning them to current loan-amount tiers, leaving the base-tier +0.00% implied margin unconfirmed for the next collection.
- First Tech auto term grid: First Tech's loan-rate module requires a state selection before populating auto rates, and a California-specific retrieval would determine whether a complete 36/48/60/72-month schedule exists for inclusion in the auto grid.
- Provident effective-date rendering: Provident's auto, HELOC, and mortgage pages all render a blank effective-date field as collected 2026-08-15, and a follow-up collection should confirm whether the auto rate page resolves the date or whether the blank persists as a systemic display issue.
- Mortgage quote-matching protocol: TechCU's mortgage quote engine requires ZIP code, purchase price, down payment, credit range, property type, income, and debt inputs before returning rates, so establishing a governed profile for same-day quote collection across candidates would unlock the missing TechCU mortgage position.

